For any administrative questions concerning the graduate application process, financial award opportunities, and/or other pre-enrollment matters, please contact the Graduate Studies Office.

Social Sciences Graduate Affairs Office

Michael McBride
Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies
mcbride@uci.edu
SBSG 5416
__________________________________
John Sommerhauser
Graduate Affairs Director
(949) 824-4074
jdsommer@uci.edu
SBSG 5414
__________________________________
Patricia Frazier
Graduate Analyst
(949) 824-4224
pcfrazie@uci.edu
SBSG 5412
__________________________________
Matt Arias
Graduate Assistant
(949) 824-5924
ariasm@uci.edu
SBSG 5418

 

Graduate Program Directors
For specific academic questions, please contact the following appropriate members of the Social Sciences faculty:

  • Anthropology

Leo Chavez
Professor of Anthropology
(949) 824-4054
lchavez@uci.edu
SBSG 3326

  • Cognitive Sciences

Emily Grossman
Associate Professor of Cognitive Sciences
(949) 824-1530
grossman@uci.edu
SBSG 2558

  • Demographic and Social Anlaysis (DASA)

Susan K. Brown
Associate Professor of Sociology
(949) 824-9382
skbrown@uci.edu
SSPB 4175

  • Economics

Ivan Jeliazkov (enrolled students)
Associate Professor of Economics
(949) 824-1581
ivan@uci.edu
SSPA 3175

 

John Duffy
Professor of Economics
(949) 824-8341
duffy@uci.edu
SSPB 3285

  • Institute of Mathematical Behavioral Sciences

Louis Narens
Professor of Cognitive Sciences
(949) 824-5360
lnarens@uci.edu
SSPA 2177

  • Logic and Philosophy of Science

John Manchak (for graduate admissions)
Associate Professor of Logic & Philosophy of Science
(949) 824-7374
jmanchak@uci.edu
SST 757

James Weatherall (for enrolled student matters)
Associate Professor of Logic & Philosophy of Science
(949) 824-6656
weatherj@uci.edu
SST 781

    • Medicine, Science and Technology Studies (MSTS)

    Angela Jenks
    Lecturer in Anthropology
    (949) 824-3188
    ajenks@uci.edu
    SBSG 3304

    Political Science

Simone Chambers (for graduate admissions)
Professor of Political Science
(949) 824-3187
sechambe@uci.edu
SSPB 5269

Kevin Olson (for enrolled student matters)
Professor of Political Science
(949) 824-8335
kevin.olson@uci.edu

  • Sociology

Katherine Faust
 Professor of Sociology
(949) 824-9383
kfaust@uci.edu
SSPA 4117

Catherine Bolzendahl
Associate Professor of Sociology
(949) 824-1311
cbolzend@uci.edu
SSPB 4257

Graduate Student Directory

FAQ University of California, Irvine Interested in Graduate School? School of Social Sciences

© UC Irvine School of Social Sciences - 3151 Social Sciences Plaza, Irvine, CA 92697-5100 - 949.824.2766