For any administrative questions concerning the graduate application process, financial award opportunities, and/or other pre-enrollment matters, please contact the Graduate Studies Office.

Social Sciences Graduate Affairs Office

Michael McBride
Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies
mcbride@uci.edu
Social Science Tower 323

John Sommerhauser
Graduate Affairs Director
(949) 824-4074
jdsommer@uci.edu
Social Science Tower 323

Patricia Frazier
Graduate Analyst
(949) 824-4224
pcfrazie@uci.edu
Social Science Tower 323

Matt Arias
Graduate Assistant
(949) 824-5924
ariasm@uci.edu
Social Science Tower 323

 

Graduate Program Directors

For specific academic questions, please contact the following appropriate members of the Social Sciences faculty:

Anthropology

Leo Chavez
Professor of Anthropology
(949) 824-4054
lchavez@uci.edu
SBSG 3326

Cognitive Sciences

Joachim Vandekerckhove
Associate Professor of Cognitive Sciences
(949) 824-5958
joachim@uci.edu
SBSG 2324

Demographic and Social Analysis (DASA) - M.A. only

Susan K. Brown
Associate Professor of Sociology
(949) 824-9382
skbrown@uci.edu
SSPB 4175

Economics

Dan Bogart (Enrolled Students)
Associate Professor of Economics
(949) 824-3191
dbogart@uci.edu
SSPA 3109

John Duffy (Graduate Admissions)
Professor of Economics
(949) 824-8341
duffy@uci.edu
SSPB 3285

Institute of Mathematical Behavioral Sciences

Louis Narens
Professor of Cognitive Sciences
(949) 824-5360
lnarens@uci.edu
SSPA 2177

Logic and Philosophy of Science

JB Manchak (Graduate Admissions)
Associate Professor of Logic & Philosophy of Science
(949) 824-7374
jmanchak@uci.edu
SST 757

James Weatherall (Enrolled Students)
Associate Professor of Logic & Philosophy of Science
(949) 824-6656
weatherj@uci.edu
SST 781

Medicine, Science and Technology Studies (MSTS) - M.A. only

Angela Jenks
Lecturer in Anthropology
(949) 824-3188
ajenks@uci.edu
SBSG 3304

Political Science

Carole Uhlaner (Graduate Admissions)
Professor of Political Science
(949) 824-7329
cuhlaner@uci.edu
SSPB 3125

Kevin Olson (Enrolled Students)
Professor of Political Science
(949) 824-8335
kevin.olson@uci.edu

Philosophy, Political Science and Economics - M.A. only

Simon Huttegger
Professor of Logic and Philosophy of Science
(949) 824-3220
shuttegg@uci.edu
SST 785

Sociology

Katherine Faust
 Professor of Sociology
(949) 824-9383
kfaust@uci.edu
SSPA 4117

David Smith
Professor of Sociology
(949) 824-7292
dasmith@uci.edu
SSPB 5291

Graduate Student Directory

FAQ University of California, Irvine Interested in Graduate School? School of Social Sciences

© UC Irvine School of Social Sciences - 3151 Social Sciences Plaza, Irvine, CA 92697-5100 - 949.824.2766