Social Sciences Graduate Affairs Office

 
TThe Graduate Student Affairs Office is proud to support the research, teaching and service mission of the School of Social Sciences by providing a comprehensive range of educational-support services for prospective and enrolled students.

We are dedicated to the philosophy of achieving success by working cooperatively, with high-quality, responsive service to all. We serve as the School-level place of approval for all admission decisions, financial support and student employment matters. We're a resource, also, for funding opportunities for enrolled students. We play a coordinating role between central Administration, the Social Sciences graduate student population and the School's departments and programs.

The Graduate Office provides general educational counseling. You can count on us for knowledgeable advice and direction as you work toward completing degree requirements. We collaborate closely with faculty and administrative support staff in departments, so you can be assured that our information is consistent with policies and regulations in place in your academic unit. Chances are, any informational or procedural questions you might have--general or specific--can be answered by the Graduate Office staff.

Our doors are open; we encourage you to be in touch at any time by e-mail, telephone or in person. You will find us eager to help bring your academic plans to fruition.

Thank you for visiting. We would like to hear from you should questions or comments come to mind as you browse our web pages.


 

Associate Dean


Michael McBride

Administrative Staff


Matthew Arias
Jennifer Gerson
Gianna Virgilio

Graduate Program Directors

For specific academic questions, please contact the following appropriate members of the Social Sciences faculty:
 

Department of Anthropology
https://www.anthropology.uci.edu/

Valerie Olson (Enrolled Students)
Associate Professor of Anthropology
949.824.9737
olsonv@uci.edu
SBSG 3334

Damien Sojoyner (Graduate Admissions)
Associate Professor of Anthropology
949.824.046
sojoyner@uci.edu
SBSG 3546


 

Department of Cognitive Sciences
https://www.cogsci.uci.edu/

Joachim Vandekerckhove
Associate Professor of Cognitive Sciences
949.824.5958
joachim@uci.edu
SBSG 2324

Demographic and Social Analysis (DASA) - M.A. only
https://www.demography.uci.edu/

David Schaefer
Associate Professor of Sociology
949.824.6245
drschaef@uci.edu
SBSG 4253


 

Department of Economics
https://www.economics.uci.edu/

Fabio Milani (Enrolled Students)
Associate Professor of Economics
949.824.4519
fmilani@uci.edu
SSPA 3145

John Duffy (Graduate Admissions)
Professor of Economics
949.824.8341
duffy@uci.edu
SSP 3285


 

Institute for Mathematical Behavioral Sciences
https://www.imbs.uci.edu/

Louis Narens
Professor of Cognitive Sciences
949.824.5360
lnarens@uci.edu
SSPA 2177

Medicine, Science and Technology Studies (MSTS) - M.A. only
https://www.anthropology.uci.edu/grad/ma/

Damien Sojoyner
Associate Professor of Anthropology
949.824.0646
sojoyner@uci.edu
SBSG 3546


 

Department of Logic & Philosophy of Science
https://www.lps.uci.edu/

Jeremy Heis (Enrolled Students)
Associate Professor of Logic & Philosophy of Science
949.824.5442
jheis@uci.edu
SST 763

JB Manchak (Graduate Admissions)
Associate Professor of Logic & Philosophy of Science
949.824.7374
jmanchak@uci.edu
SST 757


 

Department of Political Science
https://www.polisci.uci.edu/

Kevin Olson (Enrolled Students)
Professor of Political Science
949.824.8335
kevin.olson@uci.edu
SSPB 5207

JB Manchak (Graduate Admissions)
Associate Professor of Political Science
mary.mcthomas@uci.edu
SSPB 5285


 

Philosophy, Political Science and Economics - M.A. only
https://www.ppe.socsci.uci.edu/

Cailin O'Connor
Associate Professor of Logic & Philosophy of Science
949.824.3954
cailino@uci.edu
SST 793


 

Department of Sociology
https://www.sociology.uci.edu/

Stanley Bailey (Enrolled Students)
Professor of Sociology
949.824.6800
bailey@uci.edu
SSPA 4117

David Smith (Graduate Admissions)
Professor of Sociology
949.824.7292
dasmith@uci.edu
SSPB 5291

 

 

© UC Irvine School of Social Sciences - 3151 Social Sciences Plaza, Irvine, CA 92697-5100 - 949.824.2766