Social Sciences Graduate Studies Office

 
The Graduate Studies Office is proud to support the research, teaching and service mission of the School of Social Sciences by providing a comprehensive range of educational support services for prospective and enrolled students.

We are dedicated to the philosophy of achieving success by working cooperatively, with high-quality, responsive service to all. We serve as the School-level place of approval for all admission decisions, financial support and student employment matters. We are a resource for funding opportunities for enrolled students. We play a coordinating role between central administration, the Social Sciences graduate student population and the School's departments and programs.

The Graduate Office provides general educational counseling. You can count on us for knowledgeable advice and direction as you work toward completing degree requirements. We collaborate closely with faculty and administrative support staff in departments, so you can be assured that our information is consistent with policies and regulations in place in your academic unit. 

We are available by email, phone, Zoom, or in-person by appointment. We are happy to help bring your academic plans to fruition.
 


 

 

Associate Dean

 

Barbara Sarnecka

 

Administrative Staff

 

Tracy Charles
Jennifer Gerson
Gianna Virgilio

 

Doctoral Program Directors

For specific academic questions, please contact the following appropriate members of the Social Sciences faculty:
 

Department of Anthropology

https://www.anthropology.uci.edu/

Mei Zhang (Enrolled Students)
Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
949.824.8167
mzhan@uci.edu
SBSG 3316
 

Eleana Kim
Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Admissions
949.824.9298
eleana.kim@uci.edu
SBSG 3332

 

Department of Cognitive Sciences

https://www.cogsci.uci.edu/

Mimi Liljeholm
Associate Professor and Graduate Director
949.824.8444
m.liljeholm@uci.edu
SBSG 2312
 

Department of Economics

https://www.economics.uci.edu/

Fabio Milani (Enrolled Students)
Associate Professor of Economics
949.824.4519
fmilani@uci.edu
SSPA 3145
 

John Duffy (Graduate Admissions)
Professor of Economics
949.824.8341
duffy@uci.edu
SSP 3285
 

Department of Global and International Studies

https://www.globalstudies.uci.edu/ 

Philip McCarty
Associate Professor of Teaching, and Graduate Director
949.824.6352
philip.mccarty@uci.edu
SST 591
 

Institute for Mathematical Behavioral Sciences

https://www.imbs.uci.edu/

Zygmunt Pizlo
Professor and Falmagne Endowed Chair
949.824.2307
zpizlo@uci.edu
SSPA 2187
 

Department of Language Science

https://www.langsci.uci.edu/ 

Richard Futrell, Graduate Director
Assistant Professor, Language Science
rfutrell@uci.edu
SSPB 2215
 

Department of Logic & Philosophy of Science

https://www.lps.uci.edu/

Cailin O'Connor (Enrolled Students)
Associate Professor of Logic & Philosophy of Science 
949.824.3954 
cailino@uci.edu 
SST 793
 

JB Manchak (Graduate Admissions)
Associate Professor of Logic & Philosophy of Science
949.824.7374
jmanchak@uci.edu
SST 757
 

Department of Political Science

https://www.polisci.uci.edu/

Mary McThomas (Enrolled Students)
Associate Professor of Political Science
mcthomas@uci.edu
SSPB 5285
 

Jeffrey Kopstein
Graduate Admissions Director and Professor
949.824.4012
kopstein@uci.edu
SSPB 5225
 

Department of Sociology

https://www.sociology.uci.edu/

Yang Su
Associate Professor of Sociology
949.824.6800
su.yang@uci.edu
SSPB 4279
 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Master's Program Directors

 

Demographic and Social Analysis (DASA)

https://www.demography.uci.edu/

Rachel Goldberg
Associate Professor of Sociology
949.824.9683
rachel.goldberg@uci.edu
SSPB 4289
 

Philosophy, Political Science and Economics

https://www.ppe.socsci.uci.edu/

Kyle Stanford 
Professor of Logic & Philosophy of Science
949.824.3954
stanford@uci.edu
SST 769
 

 


 

DECADE Mentors

DECADE aims to enhance the climate for all students by bringing attention to diversity issues on campus. DECADE programming provides professional development and networking opportunities critical to navigating students' graduate career.
 

LOGIC & PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE
https://www.lps.uci.edu/
Jeremy Heis
 jheis@uci.edu
 

ECONOMICS
https://www.economics.uci.edu/
Jose Antonio Rodriguez-Lopez
 jantonio@uci.edu
 

POLITICAL SCIENCE
https://www.polisci.uci.edu/
Cecelia Lynch
 clynch@uci.edu
 

SOCIOLOGY
https://www.sociology.uci.edu/
Ann Hironaka
 hironaka@uci.edu
 

COGNITIVE SCIENCES
https://www.cogsci.uci.edu/
Emily Grossman
 grossman@uci.edu
 

ANTHROPOLOGY
https://www.anthropology.uci.edu/
Lillith Mahmud
 lmahmud@uci.edu
 

GLOBAL & INTERNATIONAL STUDIES
https://www.globalstudies.uci.edu/
Long Bui
 longb@uci.edu
 


 

 

© UC Irvine School of Social Sciences - 3151 Social Sciences Plaza, Irvine, CA 92697-5100 - 949.824.2766